Search site

Browse the Website

Government Initiatives

Renewable Energy E-Gaming E-Commerce New Residents

Ordinary Election Notice 2018

TAKE NOTICE that the States has resolved that the 2018 Ordinary Election will take place on:-   Saturday, 1st December 2018

In the Members Room, Island Hall, Royal Connaught Square

The Polling Station will be open between 0930 hours (9.30a.m.) and 1830 hours (6.30p.m.)

NOMINATIONS* of qualified persons who wish to offer themselves for election as a Member of the States of Alderney for a 4-year period of office must be submitted to the Chief Executive at the States Offices during the 7-day period ending:-

Monday 19th November 2018

The nomination list will close at 1600 hours (4.00p.m.) on that day.

*Nomination forms for proposed candidates are available from the office of the Chief Executive or can be downloaded from the States of Alderney website.



Residents on the Electoral Roll are reminded that should you be absent from the Island on election day, and you wish to vote, there are two alternatives open to you:-

  1. Postal Vote - Application forms can be obtained from the office of the Chief Executive. However, it should be remembered that voting slips cannot be posted to you until they have been printed following closure of the nomination process.

  2. Proxy Vote - Application forms can be obtained from the office of the Chief Executive. You may nominate a relative or friend to cast a vote on your behalf on election day.


Applications for both postal and proxy voting must be registered with the Chief Executive at least two days prior to the election.


COUNTING OF VOTES -Immediately after the end of polling hours, the votes will be counted in the Island Hall. It should be noted that according to the States of

Alderney Election Procedure Ordinance, 1987 only the Returning Officer and his staff, the Jurats carrying out the count and each candidate (or his representative) may be present during the count. Anyone wishing to attend must seek the consent of the Returning Officer prior to Election Day. Unauthorised persons will not be admitted.


Andrew Muter

Chief Executive