Search site

Browse the Website

Government Initiatives

Renewable Energy E-Gaming E-Commerce New Residents

Bailiwick residents urged to check passport expiry date in case of no-deal Brexit

Media release from the States of Guernsey

With Brexit now less than 200 days away, the President of the Committee for Home Affairs is advising people to check when their passport is due to expire.

The UK Government today published its second batch of technical notes, which will further help the public and business community prepare for a no-deal Brexit.
One of today's technical notes relates to passports, as in the event of a no-deal scenario British passports will from 30th March 2019 be considered a 'third country passport'. This mean they must have at least six months validity on them in order to be allowed entry into a Schengen Area country. This applies for adult and children passports. Currently there is no requirement for British passports to have a minimum validity remaining when entering or leaving the Schengen Area.

Additionally, according to the Schengen Border Code third country passports must have been issued within the last 10 years on the date of arrival in a Schengen country. Therefore any local resident planning to travel to a Schengen area from 30 March 2019 should check their passport is no older than nine years and six months on the day of travel.
Deputy Mary Lowe, President of the Committee for Home Affairs, said:
'Following the release of the technical notes detailing the potential implications for British passport holders, we wanted to make sure no one was caught out in the event of a no-deal Brexit.
"As such I would urge all residents to check their passport expiry date in the near future, and certainly well in advance of March next year. That way, should anyone need to replace their passport they will have plenty of time to do so before Brexit.
'It's important to note that this is necessary preparation in the event of a no-deal Brexit, but we all very much hope that the UK and EU are able to come to an agreement on a deal. An orderly Brexit would be of benefit to all parties, including the Bailiwick.'

Anyone with concerns about whether their passport's validity will allow them to travel into the Schengen Area can contact the Guernsey Passport Office on 741410 or email

The following countries are members of the Schengen Agreement: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. These EU countries are not in the Schengen area: Ireland, Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia and Cyprus.


Notes to Media
Issued by: Joel de Woolfson
Contact: 07839 700635

Other media releases relating to Citizens' rights.

All the information is