Search site

Browse the Website

Government Initiatives

Renewable Energy E-Gaming E-Commerce New Residents

Policy and Finance

States Members on the Committee are all members of the States of Alderney apart from Matthew Birmingham who resigned from the Committee April/May of 2017 and did not wish to be elected to the Committee at the 10th January 2018 States meeting. 

Individual Responsibilities:

Chairman - James Dent (2017 & 2018)

Deputy Chairman of Policy and Finance Committee - Anthony Barnes

Members with responsibility for liaison with the following bodies relating to Transferred Services: Policy & Finance Committee, with individual delegation when required for:

  • Health & Social Care Committee - Graham McKinley
  • Employment & Social Security Committee - Graham McKinley
  • Education, Sport & Culture Committee - Alexander Snowdon
  • Home Affairs Committee - James Dent
  • Environment & Infrastructure Committee - Norma Paris (and General Services Committee)
  • Economic Development Committee - James Dent
  • States' Trading Supervisory Board - James Dent

Butes Centre Trust - Trustee - Norma Paris

States Appointed Director of Alderney Electricity Limited - Matthew Birmingham

Board of Alderney eGambling Limited - Anthony Barnes & Matthew Birmingham

Alderney Liaison Group* - James Dent, Anthony Barnes, Norma Paris and Alderney Representatives as ex-officio members.

States of Alderney Pensions Trustees - Chairman of Policy & Finance Committee; Chief Executive & Treasurer in accordance with the rules of the scheme are appointed a Trustees.

*Matters discussed by the Alderney Liaison Group include: population size and demography, falling school rolls, related economic matters (following the withdrawal of Low Value Consignment Relief by the UK) and operational matters relating to the airport.

Agendas and minutes of meetings can be found here.

Should you have any matters you wish to raise with the Chairman or bring to the attention of the Committee, please write to:

PO Box 1001, Alderney, Channel Islands, GY9 3AA